Chive On

You might remember back in June 2012 I visited Pelsall North Common with @Bex_Cartwright where we recorded 9 species of Bumble Bee on a patch of chives that are thriving on the common as a remnant of the old cottages that were associated with the foundry there. This year I made sure to go back to see if the patch of culinary plants is still providing a food source for bees.  Here are a few of the pics I took…

I’m pleased to say that we re-recorded all of the species we found in 2012:

Red Tailed Bumblebee (Bombus lapidarius)
Hill Cuckoo Bee (Bombus rupestris)
Early Bumblebee (Bombus pratorum)
White Tailed Bumblebee (Bombus lucorum)
Four-coloured Cuckoo Bee (Bombus sylvestris)
Buff Tailed Bumblebee (Bombus terrestris)
Vestal Cuckoo Bee (Bombus vestalis)
Tree Bumblebee (Bombus hypnorum)
Common Carder Bee (Bombus pascuorum)

And added another three species:

Garden Bumblebee (Bombus hortorum)
Field Cuckoo Bee (Bombus campestris)
Heath Bumble Bee (Bombus jonellus)

Pretty cool stuff if you ask me – so if you are looking for a great plant to have in the garden, you could do a lot worse than putting some chives in your herb patch!

7 Replies to “Chive On”

  1. I have chives here in my North Carolina USA garden & the bees love them. Right now my thyme is in full bloom & it is thick with bees. A 5 year old cardoon has many thistle flowers that a-buzz with bumbles.I cannot identify but observe what they like to eat & aim to provide it. Thank you for your research where you are & finding all species of 2012 still buzzing. There has been bad news recently about the dear old bumbles worldwide.

  2. Following your blog I did get some chives going this year but not enough – must try harder next year. I find that letting my mint and marjoram flower are also good bee “traps”. Amelia

Leave a Reply

