An Urban Fox Hunt

I am heartbroken and really angry, so forgive me for the graphic photographs, but I’m not going to pull any punches on this one. Someone was seen last week shooting foxes at Fibbersley Local Nature Reserve in Willenhall. I only found out this morning when a resident saw me litter picking with the Friends of Fibbersley and told us about it, and where to find the dead foxes. The police were called at the time, and I spoke to them today, and they are very concerned. Alas, there is very little they can do unless they catch the man in the act. Not only is this a wildlife crime, but it is also a firearms offence, so I’d like to ask the residents of Walsall to please be vigilant if you are on site and see something suspicious and report it to the police if you think a crime is in progress (do NOT under any circumstances approach anyone), and if you know anything about this or any other wildlife crime, please don’t keep it to yourself.

It also should be stressed that this means that someone is walking around nature reserves at night with a loaded firearm, so if you are on site at night, please don’t go alone, and please use caution.  I can’t imagine what type of monster would do this (many of the foxes were cubs), but this is the second incident of this type this week.

Believe it or not, it isn’t actually illegal to shoot foxes, but it IS illegal to carry a firearm in a public place, and to shoot in a public place, so a crime has been committed either way. You can get more information on wildlife crime at the National Wildlife Crime Unit and about foxes specifically at the National Fox Welfare Society.

9 Replies to “An Urban Fox Hunt”

  1. 2 where lay outside Jubilee House Bloxwich Lane, Walsall a month ago. They didn’t look like they’d been hit by a car and I though it strange there were 2 as they were lay next to eachother on a grass verge. They were collected by a blue car. I didn’t think anything at the time but I wish I’d logged the reg now. I will look and report if I see anything else. What evil people we live amongst.

  2. Morgan ….someone has been coming to merrions at about 3 ..3.30 in morning with a dog in what could be a blue car …hard to see unless I go out the front door which I won’t do at night ….plus there is a couple who keep placing bags of what looks like raw mincemeat at the trees at entrance by house..not sure if it’s a religious thing or something untoward …I’m concerned about foxes here not seen any in months which is worrying as there were a family of foxes last year …. You know where I am if you need any more info …….mandy …

    1. Thanks Mandy, Merrions is the other site we’ve had calls about. I am going on Monday to see where the animals are. If you see the car again and can get the reg, please write it down and call me. I am going to update the police on Monday about the car. Will drop by if you’re in. X

  3. I will call police and try to get a sneeky pic of the car/person if I see it again. It’s sickening. I have a fox den at the bottom of my garden that I found out about after I moved in. I fenced off about 7ft of my garden for them as I didn’t want my dog disturbing them or the foxes eating our rabbits. Been here 3yrs now and had no trouble off them, my children and I feed them at times an enjoy watching them play. Beautiful animals.

      1. Because there was a local resident who saw him doing it and she is the one who originally called the police. Alas, he had scarpered by the time the police arrived.

Leave a Reply

