Heather Be Thy Name

Had a go today at making an English basket using heather from Brownhills Common.  Thanks to Dave Knowles (aka Obi Wan) from the Forest of Mercia, who advised me on twisting and binding down with white willow, I managed a nice first attempt.  The rest of the basket is made from Dicky Meadows Willow (a variety of Salix purpurea) which I thought worked really nicely, and although it is a bit waxy, I just LOVE the glaucous colour.  Going to use this basket for my Christmas Tree base this year!

 

One Reply to “Heather Be Thy Name”

Leave a Reply

