Two slightly dodgy photos of two completely amazing animals

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Can you make it out?  Right in the middle?  Sort of a little brownish-pinkish blob?  The photo is terrible, because I couldn’t risk using flash and disturbing him, but this is a hibernating brown long eared bat!  I was on a training / survey day on Friday, and we were inspecting a local site for possible tree roosts, and we came upon this little bat!  Brown Long Eared Bats have whopping great big ears, but sleep with them tucked under their wings.  Here’s a photo of one of the bats I looked after this year so you can get a better look.  Meet Joey from Cradley Heath:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Much to my delight, this was followed this morning by seeing a Kingfisher on a walk around Park Lime Pits with the Friends of Park Lime Pits and the Black Country Biodiversity Group.  So the first week of January isn’t finished and I’ve already had two amazing close encounters.  I can only hope that it is the shape of things to come!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I even managed to catch a bit of video of the Kingfisher hunting…

Anyway, I was in work a couple of days last week, but back in full force tomorrow with a talk about Walsall’s wildlife for a local probus club – I’ve had a lovely christmas & new year, but ready to get back to work and start keeping an eye out for bees!

3 Replies to “Two slightly dodgy photos of two completely amazing animals”

  1. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the
    video to make your point. You obviously know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence
    on just posting videos to your weblog when you could be giving us something informative to read?

    1. I don’t have to write an essay every time I post; sometimes I just want to share something I’ve seen. I don’t feel that I’m throwing away my intelligence by doing something that I find fun & enjoyable. Lighten up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

